Are High Waisted Styles For Plus Size???

15 Oct
        highwaisted-pants.jpg

High waisted jeans, pants, and skirts are the NEW phenomenon. They have been all over the place for slim women. Can plus size women wear high waisted clothes? I say YES!!! But it definitely has to be done right.

If you’re afraid of your tummy getting in the way don’t worry because in most cases it will be hidden. The high waist will be more like a girdle. To be plus size and wear anything high waisted you must have confidence, an attitude, and style to match.

Will you be sporting the high waisted style???

BASICS TO WEARING HIGH WAISTED STYLES
√ You must tuck in your top.
√ You must wear a fashionable top. Ruffles, high collar, or a lot of details.
√ You must wear a great pair of shoes, most likely heels.

PLUS SIZE HIGH WAISTED STYLES
torrid-high-wasited-skinny-jeans.jpghigh-waisted-pinstripe-pants.jpghigh-waisted-skinny-jeans.jpg

Torrid High wasisted Jeans $52 Available in sizes 12-26
LB High waisted Pinstripe Pants $59.50 Available in sizes 14-26
High Waisted Skinny Jeans Available in sizes 1x-3x

~TC

15 Responses to “Are High Waisted Styles For Plus Size???”

  1. Elle Mannered October 16, 2007 at 7:28 am #

    This post is right on point…thanks for the links b/c I’ve been trying to find some high waisted jeans that look right on me…I’m a hippy girl and sometimes things can look “stuffed” so anyways great post!

  2. RachelLeRoy October 17, 2007 at 7:37 pm #

    But when you sit down, won’t the high waist line get messed up? I don’t think this is a flattering style for a plus-sized woman. A high waist will accentuate a flaw instead of bringing attention to more flattering areas.

  3. nycgirl October 18, 2007 at 6:59 pm #

    I don’t think so. The look on the model with the red shirt and jeans is bad. You could see her thighs are too big, fat, not a good look if you want to tone down the fatness. The grey slacks are a better stream line look to wear for big girls.

  4. nyprdiva October 18, 2007 at 10:00 pm #

    I think it can work as long as the lines are right. And that is something that goes across to the board for both traditional and plus sizes. For example I think a wide-leg high waisted pant or jean would look fabulous on a curvy chick. But again, it’s all about the lines.

  5. houstonphyne October 21, 2007 at 11:56 pm #

    Some plus size women are proportionate. I agree with the statement: “As long as the lines look right.” To thine own self be true.

  6. yoyo November 14, 2007 at 2:32 pm #

    Plus women will look fabolous in high waist jeans. Especially, if they are confident. Most plus women are more confident with their bodies than smaller women, so I think that these styles are absolutely perfect. The picture with the jeans above looks great. The shirt is just too plain.

  7. Notis December 1, 2007 at 10:08 am #

    Has anyone found any plus size high waisted pants that the skinny model has on? Those to me are the true high waisted pants. I’d like to find some of those with the really, really high waist that comes up under your breasts.

    Also, to comment about whether plus size women can wear them….I haven’t seen it done, but with the right FOUNDATION (aka a good corset, bustier, spanx or all 3) anything can be done. It’s not the clothes you wear, but how you wear the clothes!!!

  8. Stacy January 1, 2008 at 8:00 am #

    Curvy Girl Clothing has some great high waisted denim jeans right now – I think they may go up to 22/24.

    Their website is http://www.curvygirlclothing.com

  9. Tammy Clark-Diggs March 1, 2008 at 4:04 am #

    I am a plus size woman who owns the really high waisted look (right under my breasts) and I am here to tell all the disbelivers, I am FIERCE. Don’t knok it til you try it ladies. I have gotten many compliments on them.

  10. Brittainy May 15, 2008 at 11:01 pm #

    I took a chance and ordered a high waisted skirt from curvy girl clothing (I was terrified) and I must say that I looked kinda hot lol. The key to this trend, as well as everything else, is that the piece has to fit correctly. I was worried about my stomach, but I have a fabulous body shaper! Stick w/plain tops, let your accessories talk for you, put on your heels, and walk like you’re ripping the runway!

  11. Danika June 5, 2008 at 2:52 am #

    i love skinny jeans!! omfg!!
    i like totally love them..i might not look good but some of my friends wear skinny jeans and the look bomb! =]

  12. ThickAllOver July 13, 2008 at 3:30 am #

    I found some nice ones on shesgotcurves.com. They really hold in my stomach area really well.

  13. ThickAllOver July 13, 2008 at 3:31 am #

    I found some nice ones on http://www.shesgotcurves.com. They really hold in my stomach area really well.

  14. Vicky September 12, 2008 at 9:06 pm #

    To be honest, I don’t think anything but a skirt looks nice. I wear my (albeit not made to be, but I wear it as) high waisted skirt with a top tucked into it. It looks nice on me, because it skims over my stomach and as I have been blessed with big tits looks just puts the focus on them, which I don’t mind (most of the time).

    Jeans…I’m not so sure. Unless it’s 16 (UK) downwards…

  15. mysterygal_ December 6, 2009 at 1:29 am #

    skinny jeans are for anyone who wants to wear them , just because your got fat or got a booty doesnt mean they cant wear the plus size women are just as beautiful and unique as skinny people size doesnt change a person were all made equal so those asking if skinny jeans should be worn on a plus size girl my answer is YESSS

Leave a Reply

