How To Be A Plus Size Model?

30 Sep

cover-plusmodelmagazine.jpg

I received a lot of emails asking me how to become a plus size model??? Since I can’t really email everyone, I thought it would be a better idea just to post it for all to see. There are some really important requirements to becoming a plus size model. There are a ton of agencies looking for plus size models. If you’re lucky you may find a company like Torrid that are also looking for models.

REQUIREMENTS

Height Between 5’8″ and 6’0″
5’9″ is pretty much minimum for larger markets though Wilhelmina in NYC does represent a few girls who are 5’7″ and 5’8″.

Size 12, 14, 16
Sizes 10 and 18/20 are also used, but are not as common.

Toned
You may be a “plus size,” but you may have to be in shape if you model swim wear, lingerie or fitness gear.

Proportionate
You should be in proportion. Your bust, waist and hips should be about ten inches apart in size (i.e. 42-32-42) or very close. In addition, the shorter you are, the smaller your size should be. Someone who is 5’8″ would be expected to wear a smaller size (12/14) than a taller model. It is all about length and proportion.

PLUS SIZE MODELING COMPANIES
BGM
Close Models UK
Ford Models 12+ Division
Wilhelmina
Giovanni Models
Dorothy Combs Models
Goddess Models
12+ Uk

I hope this information helps those looking forward to be gorgeous plus size models. Let me know if this information was helpful. GOOD LUCK!!!

~TC

27 Responses to “How To Be A Plus Size Model?”

  1. Marie September 30, 2007 at 5:34 pm #

    Hi, do you have a link to a page where I can convert the meisures you gave me to cm? (or if you have the cm-meisures that would be great!)

    Love Marie

  2. Frasypoo October 1, 2007 at 5:14 pm #

    Thats a great post TC.It something people want to know but dont know how/who to ask.

  3. Truly Curvaceous October 1, 2007 at 5:20 pm #

    Thanks so much for the complaint Frasypoo :-)

  4. Brittani McIntire December 14, 2007 at 7:14 pm #

    I would like to become a Plus Size Model, is there any way I can Fulfill my dream?

  5. cherrelle December 15, 2007 at 3:04 am #

    I would like to be a plus size model but this info is a little discouraging. Because I have a beautiful face but I’m only 5’2 ,wear a 16,wear an A cup and weigh 180 pounds.

  6. Isobella jade December 31, 2007 at 6:55 pm #

    No matter your height if you have personality there is modeling out there for you.

  7. JADYEEKISS January 25, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    HEYA U KNOW W3N U B3COME A PLUS SIZE MODLE DO YA HAVE TO HAVE GCSE AND ALSO DO YOU HAVE TO PRETTY.
    AND WHEN YOU FIRST COME INTO THE BUSINESS HAS A FIRST TIME PERSON DO YOU HAVE TO OF DONE MODLE BEFORE

  8. acacia maree greenup February 21, 2008 at 12:50 am #

    hey iam acacia iam sixteen almost seventeen live in australia nsw i alwase wanted to be a model and just woundering do you have a sight i may be able to post a few photos acacia

  9. ruby jacobo March 20, 2008 at 5:52 am #

    i would like to be a model please help me to fing the right website for be a model

  10. Irene March 20, 2008 at 9:39 am #

    Hi Nicole
    I’m not sure if this is your real name, but totally understand if its not. You’ve been my favourite plus size beauty model for a some time, since my little company started to work, since 2005. Here, in NZ, my ladies are soooooo old-fashioned English style women, so when I arrived 15 years ago, from Russia, I was like an alient, walking in my black/gold patch suit, wearing for trips only. Anyway, I really feel you could make a huge difference in here, NZ, and I would like you to reply/contact me about it. My head is full of great ideas at the moment. I’m a Red Diploma Fashion Designer From Russia, since 1979. There were a largest Fashion Factory in Russia, back to Soviet Union, why took my Diploma Project for them to get an Engeneering and Fashion country project.
    I’m not an idiot, and I can do a lot.
    I beleive, if you and me could work together, we can create our company.
    I really will waiting for your reply.
    Regards
    Irene

  11. nickie March 31, 2008 at 3:17 am #

    what if i’m 5’2…but my porportion is around that size…
    i think i’m around a plus size….

  12. marisol April 4, 2008 at 1:56 am #

    i would like to joying to model for pluse size

  13. Justine April 7, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    hia im Justine im 17 years old and am interested in modeling but have no idea wher to start off.need some help into wher to start off?Im 5″5 and size 12 tops and 14 bottoms, but not sure if i fit into the plus size modeling catogry cause of my hight?
    realy need help.
    would be thankfull if u could help me.
    justine

  14. DowntownVenus April 8, 2008 at 1:38 am #

    Hey Irene,
    The writer of this blog is not the model in the photo. Duh.

  15. miss slim May 19, 2008 at 1:40 pm #

    ur a fatty

  16. Emily July 7, 2008 at 9:12 pm #

    Wow – if I had any interest in modeling at all, I’d be great. I’m 5’11”, wear a 14 (but toned so I look pretty slim) and have a great face. I’m ridiculously proportionate. Too bad modeling is all about cheap immitations of what real beauty is. Don’t get sucked in everyone, nothing’s ever good enough for the public.

  17. gloria haris August 29, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    why does everyone dis the short chicks? im4’9-5’0 tall why cant i be in the print i think all modeling agencys should have variety .whats wrong with us short ones and half my friends are short too. yall like skinny too much i dont think this is fair isnt this equal opprotunity? i guess not huh ! Does God discriminate? you all should think about is :(

  18. Karen September 18, 2008 at 6:15 pm #

    Hello — I work for a women’s retailer (Northern Reflections) out of Toronto, Ontario, Canada and we are searching for a Plus Size Fit Model who lives in the local area.

    Northern Reflections is a highly recognized women’s apparel brand in Canada with over 22 years of success outfitting women in easy care and easy wear casual clothing. We design and develop our own product right in our Mississauga-based Store Support Centre.

    The highly specialized and passionate team of merchants are looking for someone to help ensure our Plus Size fits are “right on”! We are searching for the “perfect fit” in someone such as a stay home mom or student desiring some flexible part-time hours.

    This part-time position offers competitive wages, flexible hours and a Northern Reflections discount.

    * Requirements:

    * Must live in the Greater Toronto Area and be able to travel to and from the Store Support Centre in Mississauga, Ontario.

    * Must be available for interactive fit sessions 2days per week between the hours of 9 – 5 (Tuesday’s and Thursday’s preferred), for 3 hours at a time.

    * Fits a Northern Plus size 2 (height: 5’4″ – 5’6′, bust measurement: 47″, waist measurement: 40.5″, low-hip measurement: 50.5″); we recommend potential candidates having someone else measure to verify these measurements.

    * Provides open and honest with feedback on the fit, feel and look of the product during the product development process

    Apply at careers@northernreflections.com and put Plus Size Fit Model in the subject line.

  19. channing January 4, 2009 at 11:31 pm #

    hi. i would love to become a plus size model. been trying for a while but doesnt seem to work. i need help on how to get started?

  20. Michelle January 14, 2009 at 8:50 pm #

    I would love to become a model, but I dont think I have the right mind set to do. So I just want to get toned up like a plus size model so i can feel better about myself. I love being bigger than others. I like to be different. What are the basic ways to tone the inner thighs and arms? I really just wanna get in shape before my husband comes home from iraq. PLEASE I NEED SOME HELP!!

  21. Tanill June 8, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

    I would like to do some modeling but I don’t know where I would fit in. I know I’m not thin enough to be just a regular model but I am too small for plus sized modeling. I’m also too short for both…what do I do? I’m 5’5″, my measurements are 37″ bust, 29″ waist, and 37″hips. I wear a size 6-32 jeans and usually medium tops. Where do I fit in?
    Please reply and thank you.

  22. Nikki September 25, 2009 at 8:47 am #

    hey! This is a great post =]

    Well lets see, I am as unporportonial as flippin vase* lol, I am like 5’7 and pretty “thick” but all my life i was told what a pretty face and personality I had. Im like 87% sure I would not have a chance being a clothing or runway model, but is their any type of “head shot modeling” ? or hair modeling ? lol . Cuz that would be amazing And I would be soooooooo… happpy

    if you have any advise for me that would be great! Or could give me some site to look i would really eperciate it.

    Thank you so much!

    Nicolette Angelici (OHIO, USA)

  23. Nicolette September 25, 2009 at 8:49 am #

    ty ! =]

  24. Margie October 4, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    There are those of us who need to have models who are vertically challenged in this size range. Not all of us are 5’8″ and above. The clothing styles for women my height of 5’2″ make us look shorter and fatter than what we are. The dresses or skirts the are at mid-calf and lower do not help us. I am a size 12 and would like to see models my age (47) to be used in appropriate styles. I might have the platinum coming in (looking like it gets frosted) and have a nice looking face with high cheek bones. Models do not have to be tall and that needs to be considered when styles are made. Use colors and designs that will flatter each group of women. One style and color does not fit all shapes and sizes. We are doing ourselves a diservice especially as our society has become more obese. Work with us and not against us.

  25. RIKEEIA SMITH December 24, 2009 at 5:38 am #

    I WOULD LOVE TO BE A PLUS SIZE MODEL I LOVE TAKING PICS!!!!!

  26. Becky j January 6, 2010 at 9:17 pm #

    I’m a curvy girl and would love to be a plus size model and i seem to fit the description of what you are looking for and im quite photogenic.

  27. KAMOY JOHNSON March 11, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    I AM A PLUS SIZE WOMAN WHO IS PROUD OF HER SIZE AND WANTS TO BE ABLE TO SHOW WHAT MY BODY IS LIKE PROUDLY

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

