ULIMATE PLUS SIZE MODEL — VELVET D’ AMOUR

7 Jun

Velvet

I’ve heard about Ms. d’Amour about a year ago and I posted about it. I love her for what she’s done and I think we need more models like her and designers like Jean-Paul Gauliter. I would like to thank Frasypoo for suggesting the post.

Velvet d’Amour created quite a bit of stir in the modeling industry almost a year ago. It all started when Jean-Paul Gaultier had Velvet model in one of his runway shows in extremely sexy lingerie. While this created a lot of controversy and generated a lot of criticism in some aspects of modeling it has done nothing but advance Velvet’s modeling career and future potential.

Velvet @ The controversial Gaultier Show
Velvet @ Gaultier Runway

Velvet has been all over TV, radio and magazine since the original runway show and has appeared on TV shows like Entertainment Tonight and The Tyra Show. While some people are taking Velvet’s opinions out of context, she assures everyone that she is not against smaller models at all. She thinks that everyone should feel beautiful, regardless of their size. She and a few other plus-size models have been traveling around promoting themselves and their images.

Velvet

The 300 pound model has dealt with her fair share of eating disorders over the years and has come to the conclusion that your weight should not determine whether or not you’re beautiful. In my opinion, Velvet is creating a positive environment for the modeling industry, which has clearly been too focused on weight in the past years. I honestly think we need more people like this in the fashion industry because size isn’t wasn’t important. What’s important is the customer and making people feel good in their clothes. Let me know what you think about plus size women walking the runway with skinny models???

Some more info about Velvet click HERE

VELVET’S 1 PART INTERVIEW WITH ET

VELVET’S 2 PART INTERVIEW WITH ET

*** If there is anything that interests you pertaining to fashion please let me know and I’ll see what I can do!!!

Truly Curvaceous :-)

46 Responses to “ULIMATE PLUS SIZE MODEL — VELVET D’ AMOUR”

  1. Terry J June 7, 2007 at 3:46 pm #

    I think this article is great. I think that we need more bold plus size models like her. We have to push the envelope and designers need to change things instead of doing what everyone else is doing.

    TJ

  2. Dope!!! June 7, 2007 at 4:32 pm #

    Hey.. I ain’t saying she sexy or nothing but umm.. i’d like to see more of her on runways and stuff.. they should have a plus size victoria secret’s or fredrick’s of hollywood show.. i’d be there!

    –Dope!!!

  3. uptownflavor June 8, 2007 at 2:13 am #

    Topics like this are what is going to make your blog stand out from the many other fashion blogs clogging up the Internet. Keep it up! This is fabulous!

  4. Frasypoo June 8, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    Great post!You did the topic justice.I love her confidence!
    Judging by the popularity of this post you need to do more.You write well!
    Again great post

  5. Truly Curvaceous June 8, 2007 at 5:06 pm #

    I would like to thank everyone who left a comment. And that’s for inspiring me to do what I do best.

    Truly Curvaceous ;-)

  6. simply red June 10, 2007 at 11:57 pm #

    I’m working on my masters thesis project on plus size fashion and I was wondering if anyone knew who represented Velvet D’Amour or if she had a sight that she recieves fan mail at???

  7. Truly Curvaceous June 11, 2007 at 12:45 am #

    Thank you for the comment, I’m going to check to see if I can find a website or some kind contact info. I’ll email you the info if I find anything.

    Truly Curvaceous

  8. uptownflavor June 11, 2007 at 2:05 pm #

    After I read your post I watched a package on cable about her. I think it may have been E! but I’m not sure. She is pretty fabulous to have that much self confidence.

  9. Velvet June 14, 2007 at 5:46 pm #

    Here I am!
    Hi!!!
    How fab to find this lil gm of a blog about lil ol me!
    Thanks so much for everyone’s kind words and feel free to hit up myspace with any questions you may have or bbwvelvet@yahoo.com
    Thanks again!
    Big kiss,
    Velvet

  10. Suzy Smith June 15, 2007 at 9:37 pm #

    I am so pleased about the coverage Velvet’s getting. Every time a fat woman is shown as a person and not an object of ridicule it is a good thing.

  11. dlatman August 4, 2007 at 1:58 am #

    In the current issue of BUST magazine there is a great picture and interview with Velvet. She looks great and I learned a lot about her: http://www.bust.com
    Check it out!

  12. disgusted August 28, 2007 at 12:36 am #

    she is the most ugliest and fattest thing i have ever seen she should be banned from modelling…i mean u can see her flubber giggle….but she has got some confidence to put her fat body out there!!!

  13. disgusted August 28, 2007 at 12:37 am #

    by the way i was just joking she is the most beautifull thing i have ever seen!!!

  14. Marie August 30, 2007 at 5:28 pm #

    OMG! That is an old school friend of mine!!! Good for you!!!

  15. katie September 10, 2007 at 4:00 am #

    the article is alright but theres not much!!
    there needs to be more information!

  16. The Art Ninja September 20, 2007 at 9:23 pm #

    I think this just really shows that all people really need is clothes made to look good on you, the right attitude, and maybe a professional fashion designer on your side. (I could use a little of that myself. =^_-=) And more plus sized models would be great too! it would be nice to know what something i want would look like on me.
    …Wow. she weighs as much as me. =O_O=

  17. M Dearing September 27, 2007 at 6:22 pm #

    She’s clearly morbidly obese: she does not inspire me to buy the clothes she is wearing. I think women with moderate figures should model rather than all very thin or very fat ones. I’d like to see women US size 6-12 on the catwalks.

  18. Butterfly October 5, 2007 at 7:13 am #

    With the average woman being a size fourteen, the size of the ever famous Marilyn Monroe, I believe it’s lovely and wonderful that there are plus size models out there that are not size twelve or simply in catalog shots. It is preposterous for me to see a size eight or twelve being plus sized when that is normal sizes in women’s clothing. She is absolutely lovely and it’s a shame there are not more designers looking into plus size fashion. Truly the bags that the others provide are not flattering and some women with diet and exercise simply have the bone structure to be curvaceous and plus sized.

  19. Katie March 11, 2008 at 1:57 am #

    I think its fantastic to have plus size models on runways. I myself am aiming to become a fashion designer.. Im a size 14/16 and 6foot tall and 92kg but i can get away with the weight because of my height. Im a big but healthy woman. This woman is big but far from healthy, i dont believe that should be promoted. The runway should promote health as long as beauty and fashion. But good on her for having confidence!

  20. Javisha Christian March 17, 2008 at 5:22 pm #

    Ms. D’Amour you are so beautiful. You have really espired me to pursue my dream in modeling. You are so confident! We need more Models like you! I want to get started in the industry but I just dont know where to start; could you please give me some pointers of what you did so that I can follow in your same foot steps.

  21. simplysilks April 10, 2008 at 10:41 pm #

    I love this site!!!!! Velvet i have seen you on shows and you are hot even on them as well as in magizines. i am Pluse size and would like to know more about the modeling world. Please keep up the work and let me know more information about this. email me.

  22. Simona April 17, 2008 at 5:45 am #

    very bold Love it!!

  23. caoimhe regan April 26, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    hey im from ireland.i dnt even knw u bt damn im so proved of u.ive alwas wanted 2b a model but i taught i wasnt thin enough.u really have made a change 2both young people and adults.keep it up..x

  24. KRISTAL JONES April 29, 2008 at 5:54 pm #

    BEAUTY IS IN THE EYE OF THE BEHOLDER.. IM A SIZE 16 AND YOY CANT TELL ME THAT I DONT LOOK GOOD ARE TURN HEAD WHEN I WANT OUT THE DOOR.. SO DO YOUR THANG GIRL. FOR ANYONE WHO DOES NOT LIKE IT DONT LOOK

  25. Mags July 5, 2008 at 10:42 pm #

    She is not beautiful. She is OBESE. For the rest of you fat asses who need her to feel good about yourselves: put down the cheetos and get on the stairmaster!!!! You are all disgusting.

    • elias james salter February 6, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

      and you’re a dick

  26. mj August 27, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    Hay flabalicious ladies my name is mj and i wanna be a pluz size beauty can you please give me some tips. I am from sydney but i hear alot of agency`s are like con well not con but bodgy promise you jobs you pay money and nothing.

    so please let me know i would love to shine. and Velvet you are darling you inspired me with the your words. i live in the shadow of size 8 cousins and lived my whloe life being compared NOT ANY MORE YAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!

    LOVE MJ XOXOXOX

  27. Ravannah October 3, 2008 at 6:50 pm #

    i think it is so amasing that she is standing up for what is right …she is so amasing my role model i am a beautiful size 26 girl that wants to be a model but can’t with this industry i wish i could be more like her…

  28. size2 October 28, 2008 at 4:27 am #

    she is morbidly obese. Her face is not attractive either. Why is she a model? She should not be a role model, being extremely unhealthy and gluttonous should not be something young girls strive to be. She repulses me and i would not buy anything she advertised. bb

  29. size2 October 28, 2008 at 4:29 am #

    ps. KRISTAL JONES you turn heads because you are a size 16 and thats disgusting, people turn their heads not because you are attractive but because you are an aberration, like the car crash you just can’t take your eyes off, you repulse people but they just can’t stop looking. b

    • BM September 1, 2009 at 11:15 pm #

      Hey Mz. size 2: If people are comfortable in their own skin regardless being a size 12, 14, 16, 18, etc. etc. what’s it to you? You are unbelieveably bias against women who are not sporting your size. A size 16 is hardly obese especially when
      a size 14 is the normal size of most women. You get it? Alright? She’s not asking for ynour opinion anyhow. Keep an eye on yourself and stop judging others because they are not what you think they should be.

  30. fgfg November 8, 2008 at 7:46 pm #

    to be honest i think skinny models are better xx

  31. dhfg November 8, 2008 at 7:47 pm #

    to be honest i think skinny models are better.xx

  32. Changling November 9, 2008 at 8:25 pm #

    I think it’s interesting she’s getting notice, and honestly I think she’s pretty…not because she’s big, or small. I like how she carries herself.

    It’s interesting, a six sixteen is nasty? Have you seen what a woman who’s over five six looks like when she’s underfed? I am five nine, and a size twelve, am I disgusting? …hm…maybe.
    Maybe not.

  33. Neutral Guy November 18, 2008 at 5:29 am #

    I believe the idiocracy of the need for women to be toothpicks is ridiculous. Size has no bearing on how attractive you are. Although thats been said, obesity is one of the top killers America specifically. Being obese and proud of it isn’t always a good thing. Bottom line is the stereotypical beauty in this country is extremely distorted from where it should be, but before you go sticking it to the man realize you should do yourself a favor and try and be somewhat healthy : )

    • Relieved By Your Intelligence & Common Sense August 19, 2009 at 7:48 pm #

      Very well said.

  34. Lindsay January 12, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    That was great! =]
    Velvet seems like a wonderful person.
    Very inspiring.

  35. curvesnkisses April 6, 2009 at 6:24 am #

    hmmm, I am a heavy woman like this woman. Although I admire her confidence to get up there, I would not wear the outfit she wore on the runway… I do not think it looked good on her. I don’t believe you have to let your fat hang out to prove a point! I am all for plus models but I believe in wearing things which are complimentary to the size you are Models are there to show me clothes that I might buy! Of course that person should be my size if I’m the one buying the clothes.. just as the bone thin gals need to see the clothes they might buy on the bone thin girls and the middle of the road gals can see their clothes on their size gals… and children’s clothes on children and old people clothes on old people! etc!!!!!!! As for being lectured to about being overweight let’s leave that up to the people’s Dr.’s and the family and friends who love them! Worry about yourself and your own shortcomings!!!! . Nobody needs a lecture about how unhealthy it is… people know when they are fat and you don’t need to tell them! You think they don’t know it????? They are walking around in that body every day feeling it and living it! As for young people aspiring to something… I am not sure that I would want my daughter to set her goals on something like modeling but of course I would want her to be as healthy and good looking as possible!!!!! However, I would also hope that she wanted to do something which required more education and purpose!

  36. curvesnkisses April 6, 2009 at 6:35 am #

    I would also like to comment that although I think there should be plus models there are many more attractive plus size/ BBW/ super sized women out there than this gal! I admire your confidence Velvet but you are not the prettiest big gal I have ever seen! And particularly not really model material but that’s my opinion… and my opinion would be the same if you were 150 pounds..

  37. Shawntelle July 2, 2009 at 2:26 am #

    She is gorgeous! Who really cares what size someone is? Fashion is about style and attitude. I’m a size 4-6. And I’m definantly not skinny. (well, maybe from the waist up,lol, but regardless) And I’m 5′ 8 1/2″. There are hideous people on both ends of the spectrum. There are beautiful people on both ends of the spectrum. There are plenty of healthy plus size people who are just plain thick, and tons of unhealthy people who are on the smaller end. She represents a large portion of the market in the USA, and I am happy that our european friends in the fashion industry acknowledge that with a lil sex appeal, instead of trying to throw bigger ladies into a fuggly mumu, or tunic and double knit pants.

  38. 1234567890 September 23, 2009 at 6:12 pm #

    I think she hot and that shes looks better then the skinny models. i love u velvet

  39. Matthew September 25, 2009 at 9:14 pm #

    I LOVE plus size models and have never had a steady girlfriend less than a size 12…. through choice. To me 12-16 is perfect for a woman to look healthy, happy and sexy… although some women carry size 18 very well and I’ve also had relationships with women of that size too. Anything more than that is getting into turn off territory for me personally, with a few exceptions (very pretty, large boned size 20 women, where it’s not all fat, are also very nice). Now, Ms. d’Amour is too large for my personal tastes, but I say good on her. I think women of ALL sizes should be represented in the fashion trade. And not just a few token models.

  40. Heather November 15, 2009 at 4:24 am #

    I think of Velvet as a bit of an artist in her own right, a performance artist, and she has many adoring male fans, especially in Paris. Really, in a world driven by fetishes, the L-word and ‘leaked’ sex videos, is it really so outrageous that a woman of her size who is well groomed and well spoken would conceive of herself as worthy of admiration, as evidenced by her career choice and carriage? Really, people, good on her. Our society is so media-driven (media-driven by gay men in Hollywood, and my kudos to Gaultier for featuring Velvet AND Crystal Renn, another plus size model, in his shows – thinking outside the narrow parameters in which he works, rock on).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big Fat Deal » Oh D’Amour - June 10, 2007

    [...] nice little collection of information on Velvet D’Amour, the infamous 300-pound Jean Paul Gaultier model. Includes clips of her [...]

  2. Oh D’Amour · New York Articles - June 19, 2007

    [...] nice little collection of information on Velvet D’Amour, the infamous 300-pound Jean Paul Gaultier model. Includes clips of her [...]

  3. Oh D’Amour · Articles - June 19, 2007

    [...] nice little collection of information on Velvet D’Amour, the infamous 300-pound Jean Paul Gaultier model. Includes clips of her [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

